It’s Not Me, It’s You

Every now and again I get a post in my comments section on one of the videos I’ve done addressing women and history that I feel is worthy of singling out for attention.

The following comment is a mixed use of fallacies, complaints about my treatment of  MRAs and their supporters, and a vague reference to a highly interesting article by Marine Corps Capt. Katie Petronio who weighed in on the issue of women in combat infantry roles.

Fallacies are a dime a dozen in comment sections so I wouldn’t normally bother to comment and the only validity I see in complaining about my correcting those frequent uses of fallacy is if you’re suggesting I’m wasting my time trying to teach numpties (a potentially valid point). But it’s my time to spend and for me? Finding the occasional pearl among the garbage oysters is a rewarding experience.

 I’m primarily focusing on the last two sentences of the comment as the first section isn’t really worthy of addressing since it’s primarily a clairvoyant fantasy void of fact and long on personal opinion. 

Image

Before I begin I’ll point out that referring to me as “Ms. Philip”?

Using gender as an insult is a classic example of misogyny/misandry which is gender-oriented bigotry.

And when you complain that;

“…all I am seeing is your every argument starts on the line of “misogyny””

I’m wondering if seeing accusations of misogyny where there aren’t any is a knee-jerk reaction caused by your inability to recognize when you’ve made a comment that smacks of misogyny. Next time think before you post and actually look at my comments section instead of just the last few comments. The scarcity of accusations of misogyny is easily verifiable.

The same goes for your complaints about my observations on fallacious comments.

“your every argument starts on the line of… “post is one big fallacy”.”

I said that in one comment to one post because it was one big fallacy.  I then proceeded to explain in the next comment why it was one big fallacy.  That’s called “presenting evidence to back up your claims.”  And while not every argument (as you claim – a strawman on your part) starts out with an accusation of fallacy I’ll admit quite a few do.  There’s a reason for this and your next words are an excellent example of why that accusation is made with great frequency.

“At least be reasonable.”

Appeal to emotion which is yet another fallacy.

I get the impression that you don’t seem to understand that many of my posts consist of pointing out and teaching about fallacies because quite a few MRAs and their supporters are presenting primarily statements and arguments that are fallacies (just like you’re doing).

On a side note I rarely accuse someone of misogyny  because I suspect a great deal of the time their comments are based on simple ignorance and saying that someone is at core a misogynist is a weighty accusation.  However I do point out when someone is saying something that is misogynistic. Or bigoted.

I do readily point out fallacy because it saves time arguing on the uneven ground of someone else’s poor reasoning.  Be aware that fallacy is a preferred tool for bigots to use in expressing their ideas. Fallacies are uniquely suited to supporting bigotry because they have a charismatic appeal that masks their lack of logic.  So while not all purveyors of fallacy are bigots, bigots rely primarily on fallacy.

But in this context? Asking me to; “be reasonable” translates to; “set reason and fact aside and just accept my point of view” Which I’m not going to do.

And now we come to that rare gem, someone saying something in comments that’s actually worthy of addressing.

“You talk about experts, how about this woman? Marine Corps Capt. Katie Petronio, she served in military and she is also a woman. Is she expert enough for you ?”

Capt. Petronio establishes her expertise as a marine in her opening statements in this article.  However after doing so she expresses the following concern;

“Can women endure the physical and physiological rigors of sustained combat operations, and are we willing to accept the attrition and medical issues that go along with integration?”

And proceeds to give a long, detailed argument from personal experience along with commentary on DOD examination of policy (with reference to drop out rates at OCS) that has led to changing the requirements for how the military tests for a soldier’s fitness along with her offering a second guessing of Command’s conclusions.

Yes, she is an expert on being a marine but she is not an expert on for example, medicine and what are the best policies needed to create and field the optimum military force given the assets our nation has to offer.  So no, she would not be “expert enough for me”  In this instance. For someone to be expert enough for me they’d need the training and skills required to analyze the data in question.

Which does not change the fact that the opinions and experiences of soldiers like her should definitely be listened to and taken into consideration when they sift through the additional mound of information that soldiers like her are not privy to.  Their experiences are but one small part of that collection of data.

While women are much more capable of handling stress than men, there is some interesting research out there that might indicate that perhaps the failure to adequately handle stress by female soldiers has less to do with men making better soldiers and more to do with the Military failing to offer female soldiers the tools necessary to take advantage of their inherent superiority over men when it comes to ability to handle stress.  Tools that could certainly be offered without any reduction in the marine’s effectiveness.

So rather than dismiss the potential of women as soldiers based on her personal experience, perhaps Capt. Petronio’s experiences could give some insight into the military’s failures in this arena.

Which brings us back to Sen Tra.  When people comment out of ignorance, they leave you very little to respond to beyond pointing out the ignorance in their words.  Because as Capt. Petronio points out;

“we haven’t even begun to analyze and comprehend the gender-specific medical issues and overall physical toll continuous combat operations will have on females.”

She is right. Since these roles were denied to females in the past there’s been no way to collect data, learn from our mistakes and adjust accordingly.
Arguing that it’s never been done before and it’s too difficult because we don’t have it all worked out yet doesn’t strike me as a satisfactory response. The United States military challenges those who seek to join them to try to overcome their shortcomings and be more than they are.

Shouldn’t we expect that military to do the same?

And posting a long winded hypothetical based on your predisposed refusal to even consider the possibility that your entire position is based on ignorance and prejudice and then expecting me to respond to it?
I think Sen shouldn’t be surprised that I’m announcing our relationship is now done.

Follow me on;

youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/TheTruePooka

facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thetruepooka

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TheTruePooka

Leave a Reply

