Creationist Says Teaching Little Girls They’re Full of Potential is Narcisssitic

I shared this photo with a number of people because I felt it was beautiful and inspiring.

Image

A somewhat well known Creationist on Youtube who hides behind the name “ThickShades” responded that it’s narcissistic to teach little girls that they’re full of wonder, smart, a great learner, beautiful and have potential for greatness. Instead we should be teaching them that they’re broken, flawed, sinful, weak, dumb and nothing.

Image

For those of you with daughters, friends, family, any women in your life?

The next time you look at them remember that according to creationists those wonderful little (and big!) girls are broken, flawed, sinful, weak, dumb and nothing.

Follow me on:

youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/TheTruePooka

facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thetruepooka

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TheTruePooka

3 thoughts on “Creationist Says Teaching Little Girls They’re Full of Potential is Narcisssitic

  1. I’d call that person the biggest partyーpooper ever. It’s amazing that some people really can’t stand being in a world increasingly less reliant on superstition, lies and the big daddy of them all: fear. It’s particularly disheartening to see the whole combination of the three. And here is the irony: how unーChristーlike. As an atheist myself, I still retain the right, as you do, to call out creationists who can’t even follow the ideas of their beloved prophet.

    • I know. He just doubled down in public comments. I’m floored and amazed that someone could be so foolish and ignorant. When I was a beleive I would have responded by applauding the sentiment but trying to defend how I felt the portrayal of my religious beliefs wasn’t fair. But this… this is the comment of someone who is very likely a casual abuser.

      He says he has kids *shudder*.

  2. When I did a bit of internet research on narcissism one of the causes was given as low self esteem brought on by childhood emotional neglect and/or abuse. This confirmed my own suspicions based on observation of people with varying degrees of self absorbtion and lack of empathy. A truly loving parent can be realistic about a child’s strengths and weaknesses without undermining their confidence or making them feel unworthy or unloved.

Leave a Reply

